TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

AARP's Movies for Grownups Awards Gala

AARP's Movies for Grownups Awards Gala

  • Premiered: 
    February 22, 2015
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ReelzChannel
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Based on the radio show (Movies for Grownup) by AARP host Bill Newcott 
  • Subject Matter: Entertainment
  • Tags: celebrity

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Developed in 2002 by the editors of "AARP The Magazine," the Movies for Grownups franchise honors outstanding writing, acting and filmmaking with distinct relevance to the 50+ audience. The annual winners are published in the Feb./March issue of "AARP The Magazine" and, since 2006, celebrated at a gala each February in Los Angeles. (Until 2005, there was no ceremony, AARP The Magazine revealed winners, who were delivered their La Chaise d'Or trophy.) Recipients of the annual Career Achievement Award have included (year listed is year of ceremony): Alan Arkin (2007), Hal Holbrook (2008), Robert DeNiro (2010), Robert Redford (2011), Sharon Stone (2012), Susan Sarandon (2014), Kevin Costner (2015), Michael Douglas (2016), Morgan Freeman (2017), Helen Mirren (2018), Shirley MacLaine (2019), Annette Bening (2020), George Clooney (2021), Lily Tomlin (2022); Jamie Lee Curtis (2023). AARP'S MOVIES FOR GROWNUPS AWARDS GALA was first nationally televised on Sunday, February 22, 2015 on ReelzChannel as a one-hour TV special. The awards were not televised in 2016 nor 2017, but in 2018, MOVIES FOR GROWNUPS AWARDS with AARP the Magazine was first broadcast on PBS, where it has aired since. Ceremonies in 2021 and 2022 were virtual, because of COVID-19 precautions.
On Friday, February 17, 2023 from 9-11pm (check local listings), PBS premiered the 21st annual MOVIES FOR GROWNUPS AWARDS, hosted by Alan Cumming and featuring appearances by: Annette Bening, Jeff Bridges, Jerry Bruckheimer, T Bone Burnett, Austin Butler, Hong Chau, Patricia Clarkson, Jamie Lee Curtis, Jennifer Ehle, Frankie Faison, Brendan Fraser, Jalyn Hall, Paul Walter Hauser, Stephanie Hsu, Brian Tyree Henry, Judd Hirsch, Kazuo Ishiguro, Judith Ivey, Katherine Kendall, Gabriel LaBelle, Baz Luhrmann, Wendie Malick, Sarah Ann Masse, Glen Powell, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Lisa Ann Walter, and more. The event was held on January 28, 2023 at the Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills, CA, where Jamie Lee Curtis received the 2022 Movies for Grownups Career Achievement Award.


Other Titles

  • Also known as: Movies Grownups Awards with AARP The Magazine


  • Bel-Air Hotel (2006-2008) - Los Angeles, California USA
  • Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons Hotel (2010-2012, 2014-2020, 2023) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Peninsula Hotel (2013) - Los Angeles, California USA