TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

ACM Honors

ACM Honors

  • Premiered: 
    September 9, 2016
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: CBS
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Companion special for Academy of Country Music Awards 
  • Subject Matter: Musical
  • Tags: celebrity

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 2007 -- except in 2020 because of COVID-19 -- the ACM HONORS has celebrated special honorees and off-camera category winners from the annual Academy of Country Music Awards. This event made its television debut in 2016 when CBS broadcast the 10th ANNUAL ACM HONORS on Friday, September 9, 2016 from 9-11pm ET/PT. The 10th annual event was hosted by the 10-time ACM Award-winning group Lady Antebellum on Tuesday, August 30 at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, TN. Miranda Lambert was presented with the inaugural ACM Merle Haggard Spirit Award, which will annually awarded to a singer-songwriter and performer whose career reflects the uncompromising integrity and steadfastness of spirit embodied by the late Merle Haggard. Reigning ACM Entertainer of the Year Jason Aldean was honored with the Academy's prestigious Triple Crown Award, which is given each year to those who have won New Male/Female Vocalist of the Year, Male/Female Vocalist of the Year and Entertainer of the Year. Other honorees during the special include Special Awards recipients Glen Campbell, Crystal Gayle, Eddie Rabbitt (awarded posthumously), Tanya Tucker, Carrie Underwood, Keith Urban, Jeff Walker (awarded posthumously), Jimmy Webb, Little Big Town and The Statler Brothers. Studio Recording Awards recipients include Jim 'Moose' Brown, Dave Cobb, Shannon Forrest, Paul Franklin, Justin Niebank, Danny Rader, Michael Rhodes and Derek Wells. Plus, Ross Copperman was honored as Songwriter of the Year. In addition, superstars Jason Aldean, Kelsea Ballerini, Dierks Bentley, Luke Bryan, Cam, Toby Keith, Alicia Keys, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Blake Shelton, Cole Swindell, Keith Urban, Chris Young, Dan+Shay, The Band Perry and hosts Lady Antebellum will also be taking the stage to perform.

The 2022 ACM HONORS premiered on Tuesday, September 13, 2022 from 8-10pm ET/PT on FOX, celebrating a star-studded evening of live music and tributes. Reigning ACM Female Artist of the Year and four-time ACM Award winner Carly Pearce returns for a second year to host the ceremony. Pearce also graces the stage with a musical performance. Additional performers and presenters include Kelsea Ballerini, Dierks Bentley, The Warren Brothers, Brooks & Dunn, Dan + Shay, Jordan Davis, ERNEST, Jesse Frasure, Vince Gill, Ashley Gorley, Mickey Guyton, HARDY, Wynonna Judd, Avril Lavigne, Little Big Town, Morgan Wallen, Lainey Wilson and more. Audiences will also see a special performance from ACM Award winner and Grammy nominee Trace Adkins, performing his cover of "A Country Boy Can Survive," from the upcoming FOX country music drama MONARCH, in which he stars alongside Susan Sarandon and Anna Friel. The all-star event, dubbed "Country Music industry's favorite night," was filmed at the iconic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville on Wednesday, August 24.
On Monday, September 18, 2023 from 8-10pm ET/PT, FOX premiered the 2023 ACM HONORS, hosted by Carly Pearce for the third time. The two-hour event celebrates honorees Clint Black, BRELAND, Kane Brown, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Charlie Cook, Charlie Daniels, Mike Dungan, Ashley Gorley, HARDY, Bill Mayne, Tim McGraw, K.T. Oslin, Chris Stapleton, and Troy Vollhoffer. The event took place Wednesday, August 23, 2023 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, TN. Performers include BRELAND, Brandy Clark, Jordan Davis, Chris Janson and Lady A.

Chris Stapleton receives the ACM Triple Crown Award following his first win for ACM Entertainer of the Year at the 58th Academy of Country Music Awards. Previous recipients of the ACM Triple Crown Award include Jason Aldean, Brooks & Dunn, Kenny Chesney, Mickey Gilley, Merle Haggard, Miranda Lambert, Barbara Mandrell, and Carrie Underwood.

Charlie Cook and Bill Mayne have both been chosen as the recipients of the ACM Service Award, honoring the contributions of songwriter Mae Boren Axton and her service to the Academy. This award is presented to an outstanding Country Music artist, duo/group, or industry leader in recognition of years of dedication and service to the Academy of Country Music. Previous recipients of the ACM Service Award include Barry Adelman, Duane Clark, RAC Clark, Bob Kingsley, Reba McEntire, Gayle Holcomb, Keith Urban, and Gene Weed, among others.

Charlie Daniels has been chosen for the ACM Spirit Award, honoring the contributions of Merle Haggard, who received 20 ACM Awards in his career, including the Triple Crown Award. This award is presented to a singer-songwriter who is continuing the legacy of Country Music legend Merle Haggard by following his/her own path, crafting great songs, and epitomizing Haggard's spirit through genuine performances and great storytelling. Previous recipients of the ACM Spirit Award include Dierks Bentley, Eric Church, Toby Keith, Miranda Lambert, and Chris Stapleton.

HARDY and Ashley Gorley are awarded the 58th ACM Artist-Songwriter of the Year Award. This award is presented to an individual known both as an artist and a songwriter, selected by a Professional Panel of judges whose members composed of songwriters, publishers, producers, and performing rights organization (PRO) representatives. Past recipients of the ACM Songwriter of the Year Award include Ross Copperman, Dallas Davidson, HARDY, Luke Laird, Hillary Lindsey, Shane McAnally, Lori McKenna, and Roger Miller.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by dick clark productions


  • Ryman Auditorium (2010-2023) - Nashville, Tennessee USA - Map It!