TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

American Comedy Awards

American Comedy Awards

Photo Credit:  David Giesbrecht / NBC
  • Premiered: 
    May 19, 1987
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ABC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Created by George Schlatter 
  • Subject Matter: Entertainment
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year, THE AMERICAN COMEDY AWARDS honors comedians, actors and stars for their performances during the past year in stand-up, film and television, while also paying tribute to some of comedy's most enduring personalities. Winners are determined through a combination of votes from entertainment industry professionals and then by fans. Nominees were chosen by members of the AMERICAN COMEDY AWARDS Voting Committee, a panel consisting of 860 working professionals from the comedy community, including writers, performers, producers, directors and stand-ups. Then the public picked winners in all 19 categories by voting online. THE AMERICAN COMEDY AWARDS, first held in 1987, were held annually through 2001, airing on ABC (1987-1997), Fox (1998-2000) and Comedy Central (2001). Ten years later in 2011, Comedy Central re-introduced an awards program to again celebrate comedy by staging the 1st Annual COMEDY AWARDS, but the new awards program lasted only two years. In October 2013, NBC announced that it had acquired the AMERICAN COMEDY AWARDS, which the network aired for the first time in May 2014.
On Thursday, May 8, 2014 from 9-11pm ET/PT, NBC premiered the 2014 AMERICAN COMEDY AWARDS, which were held two weeks earlier at the Hammerstein Ballroom in Manhattan on Monday, April 26, 2014. During the ceremony, Chris Rock presented the Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence to Bill Cosby. Other presenters include Scott Aukerman, Lake Bell, Mike Birbiglia, Hannibal Buress, Andy Daly, Billy Eichner, Bill Hader, John Hodgman, Johnny Knoxville, Leslie Mann, Stephen Merchant, Adam Pally, Aubrey Plaza, Timothy Simons, JB Smoove, Patrick Stewart and Matt Walsh. Plus, Craig Robinson and The Nasty Delicious served as the house band.

Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Don Mischer Productions


  • Hammerstein Ballroom (2014) - Manhattan, New York USA - Map It!