TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

American Music Awards

American Music Awards

  • Premiered: 
    February 19, 1974
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ABC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Created by Dick Clark 
  • Subject Matter: Musical
  • Tags: celebrity

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 1974, THE AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS has paid tribute to popular musicians and recordings from pop/rock, soul/R&B, rap/hip hop, and country music genres. In 1973, Dick Clark created this award show, not only to honor music from the previous year, but also to put audiences in touch with the latest phenomena in the American music scene.
The 2020 AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS, hosted for the first time by Taraji P. Henson, was broadcast from the Microsoft Theater L.A. LIVE on Sunday, November 22, 2020 from 8-11pm ET (live)/8-11pm PT (delayed) on ABC. Justin Bieber will deliver a multisong, must-see performance, including "Holy" and "Lonely" with special guest Benny Blanco, among other surprises. The program also features performances by: Bad Bunny with Jhay Cortez, Bell Biv DeVoe, Billie Eilish, BTS, Dua Lipa, Jennifer Lopez and Maluma, Katy Perry, Lil Baby, Megan Thee Stallion, Nelly,Shawn Mendes, Bebe Rexha featuring Doja Cat, Dan + Shay, Lewis Capaldi, Machine Gun Kelly, and The Weeknd featuring Kenny G, and more.

This year's nominees include two-time AMA winner The Weeknd and rapper Roddy Ricch, both of whom snagged eight nominations, leading all of this year's nominees; and both earning a nomination for the night's most coveted award, Artist of the Year. First-time nominee Megan Thee Stallion earned five nominations, becoming the most-nominated female artist this year, including nods in the New Artist of the Year and Collaboration of the Year categories. And in a six-way tie, Bad Bunny, Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga, Taylor Swift and first-time nominees DaBaby and Doja Cat all earned four nominations each.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by dick clark productions


  • Aquarius Theater (1974) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Santa Monica Civic Auditorium (1975-1979) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • ABC-TV Studios (1980) - Los Angeles, California USA
  • Shrine Auditorium (1981-2006) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Nokia Theatre/Microsoft Theater L.A. Live (2007-Present) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!