TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

The Andy Griffith Show

The Andy Griffith Show

  • Premiered: 
    October 3, 1960
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: CBS
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Comedy (Sitcom)
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Based on characters introduced on The Danny Thomas Show 
  • Subject Matter: Family
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • 50th Anniversary: Best of Mayberry
    • Amazon
  • Complete Series
    • Amazon
  • Complete Series [2020 release]
    • Amazon
  • Complete Series [2021 release]
    • Amazon
  • Embossed Slim-Tin Packaging
    • Amazon
  • Return to Mayberry
    • Amazon
  • Season 1
    • Amazon
  • Season 1 [Blu-ray]
    • Amazon
  • Season 2
    • Amazon
  • Season 3
    • Amazon
  • Season 4
    • Amazon
  • Season 5
    • Amazon
  • Season 6
    • Amazon
  • Season 7
    • Amazon
  • Season 8
    • Amazon
  • The Colorized Christmas Special
    • Amazon
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

On Christmas Day 2015 (Friday, December 25) from 8-9pm ET/PT, CBS premiered a new one-hour special of THE ANDY GRIFFITH SHOW, featuring two newly colorized back-to-back episodes of the classic series. The special features "The Christmas Story" and "The Pickle Story," two episodes considered favorites by fans and the general public alike. Each is newly colorized to match as closely as possible to later episodes of the series that were actually filmed and broadcast in color. The main titles and end credits of the two episodes are seamlessly combined into one set at the beginning and end of the hour, with no interruption between the episodes.

"The Christmas Story," originally broadcast Dec. 19, 1960, finds Andy and Barney planning a joyful holiday at home with friends and family, only to have the town Scrooge insist that Andy lock up one of the community's known moonshiners. With a prisoner in custody, either Andy or Barney will have to stand guard. If Andy cannot be home for Christmas, maybe Christmas can come to Andy.

In "The Pickle Story," originally broadcast Dec. 18, 1961, Aunt Bea whips up a batch of homemade pickles that leaves much to be desired in the way of taste. Not wanting to hurt her feelings, Andy and Barney secretly switch her pickles with the store-bought variety. Everyone raves, and Bea soon decides to enter a jar in the competition at the county fair, leaving Andy and Barney in a bit of a "pickle."


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Mayberry Enterprises


  • Emmett & Martha Clark - Mayberry, North Carolina USA
  • Floyd's Barbershop - Mayberry, North Carolina USA
  • Barney Fife - Mayberry, North Carolina USA
  • Crowley's Market - Mayberry, North Carolina USA