TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert



  • Premiered: 
    October 18, 2020
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: HBO Nordic
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Drama
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Based on the 2016 book (Beartown) by Fredrik Backman 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: hockey

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Based on Fredrik Backman's 2016 novel of the same name, BEARTOWN is a one-hour drama series that centers on a floundering community in Sweden that places its dreams of revitalization on the teenage shoulders of its junior ice hockey team. Boosted by their new professional-athlete-turned-coach Peter and rising star Kevin, the boys finally have a shot at securing a national title -- until a violent act threatens to destroy Beartown entirely. The series explores family trauma, teenage romance, truths and lies, actions and consequences, and ultimately, the courage it takes to go against the group and stand up for justice. BEARTOWN had its U.S. premiere on Monday, February 22, 2021 at 9pm ET/PT on HBO. Episodes include:

Episode 1 (US Premiere on Monday, February 22, 2021 at 9pm): On a mission to rejuvenate the struggling community's ice hockey program, recently retired pro player Peter Andersson relocates his family to Beartown for a fresh start. But when the elite squad he was promised proves to be anything but, Peter switches his focus to the junior team, aggravating local tensions and reigniting his troubled past with star player Kevin Erdahl's father, Mats.

Episode 2 (US Premiere on Monday, March 1, 2021 at 9pm): With the financial future of the arena at stake, Peter does everything he can to coach his juniors to a semi-final win. Facing pressure from everyone in town to perform, Kevin turns to the only person who expects nothing from him: Maya. Later, a celebratory evening goes awry after a horrific act of violence occurs.

Episode 3 (US Premiere on Monday, March 8, 2021 at 9pm): With the finals rapidly approaching, Peter pushes his team and coaching staff to their limits. Meanwhile, as Maya attempts to work through the assault, Kevin does everything he can to forget. Later, Peter must choose between his family and the big game.

Episode 4 (US Premiere on Monday, March 15, 2021 at 9pm): While Maya and Kevin provide their statements to the police, the junior team is forced to take on the final without their coach and star player. Meanwhile, news of the allegation threatens to tear Beartown apart, and later, Amat grapples with a loaded offer.

Episode 5 (US Premiere on Monday, March 22, 2021 at 9pm): The entire hockey community gathers for an emergency meeting to decide Peter's future with the program. Facing increased hostility from the town and harassment at school, Maya reaches her breaking point. Later, after the police close their investigation, Maya and Kevin square off in a chilling confrontation.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Filmlance


  • - Beartown Sweden