TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Breeders' Cup Classic

Breeders' Cup Classic


Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 1984, the BREEDERS' CUP, also known as "Racing's Greatest Day," has been held at an iconic track in the United States at the end of the thoroughbred racing season worldwide. The BREEDERS' CUP features multiple races, but is highlighted by the BREEDERS' CUP CLASSIC, run at 1-1/4 miles, which usually includes the top contenders and winners from that years KENTUCKY DERBY, PREAKNESS STAKES, and BELMONT STAKES in addition to horses that qualified through the BREEDERS' CUP CHALLENGE SERIES. The inaugural BREEDERS' CUP was held at Hollywood Park in Los Angeles, with seven races, featuring the world's greatest horses, jockeys and trainers competing on one stage for $10 million in purses. NBC provided four hours of coverage of the first event, and has been the U.S. television home of the event since then.
On Saturday, November 4, 2023 from 3:30-6pm ET/12:30-3pm PT, NBC broadcasts live coverage of the 40th BREEDERS' CUP CLASSIC from Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, CA. Ahmed Fareed hosts coverage alongside analyst and Hall of Fame jockey Jerry Bailey, who owns 15 Breeders' Cup wins; analyst Randy Moss; host and reporter Britney Eurton; reporters Kenny Rice and Nick Luck; handicappers Eddie Olczyk and Matt Bernier; insights analyst Steve Kornacki; and Donna Brothers, who reports on horseback. Larry Collmus calls all of the Breeders' Cup races.

The World Championships conclude with the $6 million Longines Breeders' Cup Classic (Race #9), with a post time of 6:40pm ET/3:40pm PT. The race features: Arabian Knight (3-to-1 early odds), who has won three of four career starts, including 2023 Pacific Classic (G1) on Sep 2, and is trained by four-time Breeders' Cup Classic winner Bob Baffert; Derma Sotogake (20-to-1), a three-year old colt from Japan, who finished sixth in this year's Kentucky Derby and won 2023 UAE Derby (G2); Ushba Tesoro (4-to-1), a six-year-old horse from Japan, who has amassed more than $9.2 million in earnings in 30 career starts; White Abarrio (4-to-1), who has three stake wins, including Grade 1 2023 Whitney and 2022 Florida Derby; Zandon (12-to-1), trained by Chad Brown, who finished third in 2022 Kentucky Derby and most recently won the Woodward (G2) on Oct 1; and more.

Coverage also includes:

- NBC Sports' Mike Tirico headlines Saturday's opening tease on NBC and Peacock from SoFi Stadium, which was built on the original location of the Hollywood Park Racetrack -- the site of the first Breeders' Cup World Championships in 1984 (televised on NBC)

- A Tim Layden essay on the 40th running of the Breeders' Cup World Championships

- A feature on jockey Frankie Dettori, who has won 14 Breeders' Cup races and will ride Zandon in the Breeders' Cup Classic this weekend

- Celebrities making their Breeders' Cup Classic picks

- A pair of jockey cam systems with audio

- A megalodon camera to share live-action footage of the fashion and flavors surrounding the Breeders' Cup World Championships

- An outrider camera capturing intimate moments with the winning jockey immediately following races

- A special gyro camera on a vehicle inside the rail on the backstretch, providing a live wide-angle perspective as the horses race with the San Gabriel Mountains as the backdrop

- An RF Super Slo Mo camera, used for the first time on NBC Sports' horse racing coverage

- Live drone coverage

- Access to approximately 75 video sources, including cameras and feeds



  • Hollywood Park (1984, 1987, 1997) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Aqueduct Racetrack (1985) - Queens, New York USA - Map It!
  • Santa Anita Park (1986, 1993, '03, '08-09, '12-14, '16, '19, '23) - Los Angeles, California USA - Map It!
  • Churchill Downs (1988, 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 06, 10-11, 18) - Louisville, Kentucky USA - Map It!
  • Gulfstream Park (1989, 1992, 1999) - Hallandale Beach, Florida USA - Map It!
  • Belmont Park (1990, 1995, 2001, 2005) - Long Island, New York USA - Map It!
  • Woodbine Racetrack (1996) - Toronto, Ontario Canada - Map It!
  • Arlington Park (2002) - Chicago, Illinois USA - Map It!
  • Lone Star Park (2004) - Dallas, Texas USA - Map It!
  • Monmouth Park (2007) - Oceanport, New Jersey USA - Map It!
  • Keeneland Racecourse (2015, 2020 & 2022) - Lexington, Kentucky USA
  • Del Mar Thoroughbred Club (2017 & 2021) - Del Mar, California USA