TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

College Football Playoff Championship Game

College Football Playoff Championship Game

  • Premiered: 
    January 12, 2015
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ESPN
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Sports
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: football (college)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • 2015: Ohio State vs. Oregon
    • Amazon
  • 2016: Alabama vs. Clemson
    • Amazon
  • 2017: Clemson vs. Alabama
    • Amazon
  • 2018: Alabama vs. Georgia
    • Amazon
  • 2019 [Blu-ray]
    • Amazon
  • 2020: LSU
    • Amazon
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

THE COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF CHAMPIONSHIP GAME, which replaced the BCS National Championship Game as the championship game for the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), features the two college football teams that won the College Football Playoff Semifinal games held on New Year's Day. At the end of the FBS regular season and conference championships, the four teams participating in the semifinal games are selected and seeded by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee, which is comprised of a group of individuals with experience as coaches, student-athletes, collegiate administrators and journalists, along with sitting athletics directors. The semifinal games rotate among six different bowls (Rose, Sugar, Orange, Fiesta, Cotton and Peach), with the championship game occurring on a Monday after New Year's Day, no earlier than January 8. Ohio State beat Oregon in the inaugural COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF CHAMPIONSHIP GAME, which was played on Monday, January 12, 2015 at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX.
On January 13, 2020 at 8:15pm ET/5:15pm PT, ESPN Networks presented coverage of the College Football Playoff National Championship from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, where the Clemson Tigers (winner of the Fiesta Bowl) take on the LSU Tigers (winner of the Peach Bowl). The primary (and traditional) broadcast on ESPN was called by Chris Fowler and Kirk Herbstreit, with Maria Taylor and Tom Rinaldi reporting from the sidelines. Alternate coverage on other ESPN Networks included:

- Field Pass on ESPN2: Free-flowing commentary of the game, anchored by Adam Amin and Steve Levy, who will roam the sidelines of the Superdome. Multiple guests will join Amin and Levy throughout the telecast, including college football analysts Pat McAfee and Dan Orlovsky. Field Pass will once again be offered as an alternate pregame show, also on ESPN2. Thanks to Samsung QLED, Field Pass will be available in 4K on DIRECTV, Comcast and Altice.

- Coaches Film Room on ESPNU: Follow every play of LSU-Clemson through the minds of those who live and breathe the game every day. Participating coaches will be announced later this week

- Command Center on ESPNEWS: Multi-angle presentation, which includes up to four different vantage points at any one time, with statistics and real-time drive charts supplementing the game action.

- Hometown Radio on ACC Network and SEC Network: ACC Network has the Clemson Radio call and SEC Network has the LSU Radio call, as both networks pair the hometown audio with the ESPN main telecast. This MegaCast feed is presented in conjunction with Clemson Tigers Network powered by JMI Sports and LSU Sports Radio Network.
- Clemson (ACC Network): Don Munson, Tim Bourret, Brad Scott, and Reggie Merriweather
- LSU (SEC Network): Chris Blair, Doug Moreau and Gordy Rush


Other Titles

  • Also known as: College Football Playoff National Championship


  • Cowboys Stadium / AT&T Stadium (2015) - Dallas, Texas USA - Map It!
  • University of Phoenix Stadium (2016) - Glendale, Arizona USA - Map It!
  • Raymond James Stadium (2017) - Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, Florida USA
  • Mercedes-Benz Stadium (2018) - Atlanta, Georgia USA
  • Levi's Stadium (2019) - Santa Clara, California USA
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome (2020) - New Orleans, Louisiana USA