TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert



  • Premiered: 
    July 13, 2018
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Amazon
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Reality
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Talent
  • Tags: standup

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
  • Click icon to watch or own full episodes
    Season 1
    Season 2

Plot Synopsis

Hosted by Abish Mathew, with Sumukhi Suresh (Season 1) and Urooj Ashfaq (Season 2), COMICSTAAN is a one-hour reality competition series that brings together seven of the biggest comedians in India -- Biswa Kalyan Rath, Tanmay Bhat, Sapan Verma, Kaneez Surka, Kanan Gill, Kenny Sebastian, and Naveen Richard -- to find the next big name in stand-up. The series opens with the seven experts traveling across multiple cities to find the top ten contestants who might become the next big name in stand-up comedy. Then, in other episodes, each of the experts mentors the contestants in various aspects of comedy: iswa Kalyan Rath mentors the contestants who perform to Anecdotal Comedy; Tanmay Bhat focuses on everyday trending topics and current affairs; Sapan Verma mentors the contestants who perform to Observational Comedy; and much more. On Friday, July 13, 2018 at 3:01am ET/12:01am PT, Amazon Prime released the first four episodes of this nine-episode series, with additional episodes scheduled to debut on subsequent Fridays in July and early August. The season finale is set for Friday, August 17.
Season 2 of COMICSTAAN premiered on Friday, July 12, 2019 at 3:01am ET/12:01am PT, as Amazon Prime released the first three episodes of the new season. New episodes of the second season are released on subsequent Fridays. The second season features new contestants and new judges. This season's judges/mentors include: Zakir Khan, Sumukhi Suresh, Biswa Kalyan Rath, Kanan Gill, Neeti Patla, Kenny Sebastian, and Kaneez Surkha.