TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert



  • Premiered: 
    August 17, 2018
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Netflix
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Comedy (Sitcom)
  • Type: Animated
  • Concept: 
    Created by Matt Groening 
  • Subject Matter: Fantasy
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
  • Click icon to watch or own full episodes
    Part 1
    Part 2
    Part 3
    Part 4
    Part 5

Plot Synopsis

Created and executive produced by Matt Groening and set in the crumbling medieval kingdom of Dreamland, DISENCHANTMENT is a half-hour animated fantasy comedy series that follows the misadventures of hard-drinking young princess Bean, her feisty elf companion Elfo, and her personal demon Luci. Along the way, the oddball trio encounters ogres, sprites, harpies, imps, trolls, walruses, and lots of human fools in the Dark Ages. The story opens with Princess Bean already having the wedding day blues when a mysterious figure arrives, claiming he's her personal demon. Elfo hates his happy homeland. Netflix released the 10-episode first season of DISENCHANTMENT on Friday, August 17, 2018 at 3:01am ET/12:01am PT.

Part 2 of DISENCHANTMENT premiered Friday, September 20, 2019, as Netflix released 10 episodes at 3:01am ET/12:01am PT. This season, high-spirited Princess Bean walks through hell to save a friend, learns about a mystical destiny set for her, and helps restore her father's kingdom. In the first episode, "The Disenchantress," Bean travels with Dagmar to her homeland, Maru, where she rescues an old friend and learns of a mysterious prophecy she's expected to fulfill. Then, in the second episode, "Stairway to Hell," Bean and Luci concoct a plan to resurrect Elfo. But he'll have to meet them in hell -- if he can get there. Zog discovers a friend in frozen Dreamland.

Netflix released Part 3 of DISENCHANTMENT on Friday, January 15, 2021 at 3:01am ET/12:01am PT, as the streaming service released the entire 10-episode new season. Bean must step up her princess game amid royal plots, deepening mysteries, King Zog's increasing instability and concerns about who will rule Dreamland. In the season opener, "Subterranean Homesick Blues," Bean, Elfo and Luci become trapped in an underground world full of eerie little creatures -- and Queen Dagmar. Zog tries to thwart a plot against him.

Part 4 of DISENCHANTMENT premiered on Wednesday, February 9, 2022, as Netflix released the entire 10-episode new season. The mystery of Dreamland's origins -- and the stakes for its future -- become ever clearer as the group find themselves on personal journeys that ultimately tie in to the kingdom's fate. Separated at the end of Part 3, the heroes race to reunite. They find themselves everywhere from the depths of Hell to the clouds of Heaven and everywhere in between, including Ogreland, Steamland, underwater, monasteries, insane asylums, the Enchanted Forest, the Dreamscape and more. All the while, puzzle pieces both canonical and personal reveal themselves.
Part 5 -- the fifth and final batch of episodes -- premiered on Friday, September 1, 2023 on Netflix, which released all 10 episodes of the new season. To save Dreamland from Queen Dagmar's wrath, Princess Bean must vanquish her mother and outrun a prophecy that foretells she will kill the one she loves. The season opens with Queen Dagmar interrogating the Dreamland townsfolk to find out who's hiding Bean's body; meanwhile, Luci reconnects with his estranged father.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by The ULULU Company


  • - Dreamland