TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Gold Jacket Finalists

Gold Jacket Finalists

  • Premiered: 
    January 9, 2014
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: NFL Network
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Special, Annual
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Sports
  • Tags: football (pro)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year, NFL Network airs a one-hour special that reveals the 15 modern-era finalists who have a change to be part the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class for the upcoming year. The final 15 are selected from a group of approximately 25-30 semifinalists, which were chosen from a list of about 100 eligible players. Then, in a final voting process, the list of the final 15 players is reduced to 10 players and then five during a meeting of the Hall of Fame's Selection Committee after the first of the year. The remaining five finalists are voted on individually -- "yes" or "no" -- and a player must receive 80% positive vote to earn election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The new class of electees is announced live at that year's NFL HONORS telecast. The year-round selection process fulfills the Pro Football Hall of Fame's mission to honor the heroes of the Game, preserve its history, promote its values and celebrate excellence.

"The Pro Football Hall of Fame: The Final 15" aired live on Thursday, January 9, 2014 at 9pm ET/6pm PT on NFL Network. Hosted by Andrew Siciliano, the one-hour special reveals the list of 15 modern-era finalists for the Class of 2014.

In 2015, NFL Network aired that year's one-hour special on Thursday, January 8, 2015 at 9pm ET/6pm PT, live from the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. The primetime special is hosted by NFL Network's Steve Wyche and also includes Gold Jacket Andre Reed and Hall of Fame selectors Vic Carucci of the "Buffalo News" and Mike Chappell of the "Indianapolis Star." Each panelist discusses and debates the 15 Modern-Era Finalists. NFL Network anchor Chris Rose is also be live from NFL Network's studio in Culver City, CA.

The 15 Modern-Era Finalists for the Class of 2016 were revealed on Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 8pm ET/5pm PT on NFL Network. The one-hour show aired live from the Pro Football Hall of Fame in a specially created studio, with Chris Rose hosting in NFL Network's Studios in Culver City, CA and Steve Wyche hosting live from the Hall of Fame. Joining Wyche inside the Hall's studio were Class of 2009 Gold Jacket Bruce Smith and two members of the Hall's selection committee, Peter King of Sports Illustrated's MMQB and Sal Paolantonio of ESPN.

For 2023, the broadcast was delayed for 24 hours -- from Tuesday, January 3 to Wednesday, January 4, 2022 -- "out of respect for Buffalo Bills safety Damar Hamlin, who suffered cardiac arrest during that week's MONDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL game. The decision to postpone the program was made after discussions involving officials with the Hall of Fame, the NFL and the NFL Network."

Other Titles

  • In 2014, known as: The Pro Football Hall of Fame: The Final 15