TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Home Run Derby

Home Run Derby

  • Premiered: 
    July 12, 1993
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ESPN
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Special, Annual
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Updated version of Home Run Derby 
  • Subject Matter: Sports
  • Tags: baseball (pro)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 1985 on the Monday before its annual All-Star Game, Major League Baseball hosts a home-run derby, featuring its biggest sluggers. ESPN has televised this event since 1993 -- on same-day tape delay from 1993 through 1997 and live since 1998 -- with the derby having many formats since its inception. In the derby's first year, the American League (Cal Ripken; Eddie Murray; Jim Rice; Carlton Fisk; Tom Brunansky) defeated the National League (Steve Garvey; Dave Parker; Ryne Sandberg; Will Clark; Dale Murphy), with Brunansky hitting three home runs in the final round to win the event 17-16 for the AL.
ESPN exclusively televises the 2019 T-Mobile Home Run Derby on Monday, July 8, 2019 at 8pm ET/5pm PT from Progressive Field in Cleveland, Ohio. Karl Ravech returns for his third year as the voice of the Home Run Derby, alongside analyst Mark Teixeira, and on-field reporters Buster Olney and Jessica Mendoza. In addition to the traditional T-Mobile Home Run Derby telecast on ESPN, ESPN2 offers an alternative viewing experience for the second straight year. The T-Mobile Home Run Derby Statcast edition powered by AWS features an analytics-driven presentation with 3D spray charts of home run paths, exit velocity, and more. ESPN's StatCast alternative presentation team of play-by-play voice Jason Benetti, analyst Eduardo Perez, and MLB Statcast analyst Mike Petriello provide commentary.

The matchups included:

#1 Matt Chapman* (Oakland Athletics) vs. #8 Vlad Guerrero Jr. (Toronto Blue Jays)

#4 Alex Bregman (Houston Astros) vs. #5 Joc Pederson (Los Angeles Dodgers)

#3 Josh Bell (Pittsburgh Pirates) vs. #6 Ronald Acuna Jr. (Atlanta Braves)

#2 Pete Alonso (New York Mets) vs. #7 Carlos Santana (Cleveland Indians)

*Matt Chapman is substituting for the injured Christian Yelich.


Other Titles

  • Also known as All Star Home Run Derby