TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

I Am Groot

I Am Groot

  • Premiered: 
    August 10, 2022
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Disney+
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Comedy (Sitcom)
  • Type: Animated
  • Concept: 
    Based on character in series of theatrical films (Guardians of the Galaxy) 
  • Subject Matter: Science Fiction
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
  • Click icon to watch or own full episodes
    Season 1
    Season 2

Plot Synopsis

I AM GROOT is a series of animated shorts that stars Baby Groot (from the GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY franchise), exploring his glory days growing up -- and getting into trouble -- among the stars. Written and directed by Kirsten Lepore, all five episodes of I AM GROOT dropped on Wednesday, August 10, 2022 on Disney+:

"Groot's First Steps": Baby Groot discovers he's not the only plant being pampered aboard his space ship. A happy accident convinces Groot to try taking his first steps out of his pot -- only to learn you have to walk before you can run.

"The Little Guy": It's hard to be the little guy, but when Baby Groot accidentally uncovers a civilization of miniature blue aliens, the tables are turned. At first intimidated by the seemingly enormous tree toddler, the Grunds soon discover he's the hero they've been waiting for.

"Groot's Pursuit": Baby Groot investigates a spooky noise that's been haunting the Quadrant, the massive Ravager ship that he calls home. In doing so, he comes face-to-face with Iwua, an intelligent, shapeshifting alien who assumes his form. The best way to resolve who actually is Groot: a dance-off.

"Groot Takes a Bath": Everybody needs some alone time to relax and wash up, but things go quite differently when you're a Flora Colossi toddler. When Groot's bath concoction results in epic leaf growth, he takes his haircut into his own hands and gets inventive with styling.

"Magnum Opus": Groot sets out to paint a family portrait of himself and the Guardians, and goes to great lengths to collect art supplies and forge his masterpiece. Rocket stumbles upon Groot's efforts and quickly discovers just how messy -- and disastrous -- the artistic process can be.
The entire five-episode second season of I AM GROOT dropped on Wednesday, September 6, 2023 on Disney+, as the troublemaking twig returns to mischief. In Season 2, Baby Groot finds himself exploring the universe and beyond aboard the Guardians' spaceships, coming face-to-face (or nose-to-nose) with new and colorful creatures and enviroments. Episodes include:

"Are You My Groot?": Groot stumbles across a strange egg in a nest while exploring the alien planet of Terma. He instantly falls for the little creature that emerges when the egg cracks, adopting it as his own.

"Groot Noses Around": When Groot discovers a bionic nose-shaped device that grants him a sense of smell, he quickly learns not to stick his new nose where it doesn't belong.

"Groot's Snow Day": After landing on the icy planet of Falligar, Groot fashions a snowman with scraps of junk, inadvertently creating an unstoppable snowman-robot that wreaks havoc.

"Groot's Sweet Treat": As an intergalactic ice cream truck approaches, Groot -- desperate to get a treat -- frantically scours the ship for coins.

"Groot and the Great Prophecy": In this adventure narrated by The Watcher, Groot finds himself in the heart of an ancient Drez-Lar temple with a mythic prophecy he must fulfill to save the universe.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Marvel Television