TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Inside the Label

Inside the Label

  • Premiered: 
    May 17, 2016
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: BET
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Workplace
  • Tags: music

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Executive produced by Chris 'Ludacris' Bridges, INSIDE THE LABEL is an eight-episode series that tells the in-depth stories of the rise -- and sometimes fall -- of iconic record labels, as told through the words and eyes of the founders, artists, competitors, and key players involved in the creation of the music that defined America over the last quarter century. This series explores how music labels transformed the sound, face and business of hip hop and reveals the behind-the-scenes power players responsible for many of the world's favorite artists rise to success. Labels featured include, Disturbing Tha Peace (DTP), Grand Hustle, Loud Records, Murder Inc., Ruff Ryders, Slip-N-Slide Records, Terror Squad and Uptown Records. Plus, INSIDE THE LABEL features first-person testimonies from hip hop's most influential contributors:

Uptown Records Episode: Andre Harrell, Diddy, Jay-Z, Mary J. Blige, Babyface, Teddy Riley, Russell Simmons, Jodeci, Damion Hall, Brett Ratner, Laurieann Gibson, Robin Thicke, Sanaa Lathan, Doug E. Fresh, Al B. Sure!, Eddie F, Kim Porter, Father MC, Jeff Redd and Monifah.

Grand Hustle Episode: T.I., Jason Geter, Young Dro, Kevin Liles, Lil Duval, Killer Mike, DJ Toomp and B.o.B.

Loud Records Episode: Steve Rifkind, RZA, Xzibit and E-Swift.

Slip-N-Slide Records Episode: Ted Lucas, Rick Ross, Trick Daddy, Trina and DJ Khaled.

Terror Squad Episode: Fat Joe, DJ Khaled, Noreaga, Remy Ma, Papoose Cool & Dre and Jesse Terrero.

Ruff Ryders Episode: Joaquin Dean, Darren Dean, Chivon Dean, Swizz Beatz, Eve, The Lox, Irv Gotti, Drag-On, DJ Clue, Kool Herc, Lyor Cohen and Jimmy Iovine.

Disturbing Tha Peace (DTP) Episode: Ludacris, Chaka Zulu, Jeff Dixon, Chingy, Bobby V., Shareefa, Lil Scrappy, Bangladesh, Lil Fate, I-20 and Poon Daddy.

Murder Inc.: Irv Gotti, Ashanti, Ja Rule, Jay-Z, Charli Baltimore, Kevin Liles and Lyor Cohen.

Production & Distribution

  • Produced by A. Smith & Co.