TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Kentucky Derby

Kentucky Derby

  • Premiered: 
    May 3, 1952
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: CBS
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Sports
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: horse racing (thoroughbred)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Every year since 1875, Churchill Downs has hosted the KENTUCKY DERBY, often billed as "The Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports," which is the first jewel in horse racing's Triple Crown. At the first event, an estimated 10,000 people watched on May 17, 1875. Until 1895, the KENTUCKY DERBY was a 1.5-mile race, when it was shortened that year to 1.25 miles, because the distance was "too long for three-year-old so early in the spring." The Derby had its first live radio broadcast in 1925 and was first televised nationwide by CBS in 1952.

THE KENTUCKY DERBY is traditionally the first leg of the American Triple Crown of horse racing, typically run on the first Saturday in May. Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Kentucky Derby was postponed from Saturday, May 2 to Saturday, September 5, and this year the race is the middle leg of the Triple Crown, which concludes with the 145th Preakness Stakes on Saturday, October 3. THE KENTUCKY DERBY returned to its typical weekend in May 2021.
On Saturday, May 7, 2022, NBC presents the 148th Kentucky Derby, with coverage of seven races starting at 2:30pm ET/11:30am PT, live from Churchill Downs, featuring Mike Tirico, who is hosting Derby coverage for the sixth time; analysts Jerry Bailey, the Hall of Fame jockey and two-time Kentucky Derby winner, and Randy Moss; handicapper/reporter Eddie Olczyk; host/reporter Ahmed Fareed; reporters Britney Eurton, Donna Brothers, Kenny Rice, and Nick Luck; and race caller Larry Collmus.

Steve Kornacki, NBC News' celebrated national political correspondent, joins NBC Sports' Kentucky Derby coverage as an insights analyst for the second consecutive year. NBC Sports' Tim Layden will deliver an essay. NBC Sports' Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Rutledge Wood will serve as lifestyle correspondents. NBC News' Dylan Dreyer, who has previously been part of NBC Sports' Kentucky Derby and Royal Ascot horse racing coverage, and E!'s Zanna Roberts Rassi, who makes her NBC Sports horse racing debut, will serve as fashion correspondents.

Post time for the Derby is 6:57pm ET/3:57pm PT, featuring a field of 20 horses. The 2022 Kentucky Derby features 7-2 favorite Epicenter, who won this year's Louisiana Derby (G2) in March and finished as the Kentucky Derby qualifying points leader. Also expected to contend are 2022 Santa Anita Derby (G1) winner Taiba, this year's Fountain of Youth (G2) winner Simplification, 2022 Blue Grass Stakes (G1) winner Zandon (with 3-1 morning odds), and Messier, who finished second in this year's Santa Anita Derby, and is named after NHL legend Mark Messier.

Brittney Spencer sings the national anthem. Past artists who performed the national anthem are Tori Kelly (2021), Churchill Downs' longtime bugler Steve Buttleman (2020), Jennifer Nettles (2019), Pentatonix (2018), Harry Connick Jr. (2017), Lady Antebellum (2016), Josh Groban (2015), Jo Dee Messina (2014), Martina McBride (2013), Mary J. Blige (2012), Jordin Sparks (2011), Rascal Flatts (2010) and LeeAnn Rimes (2009).

Jack Harlow has been granted the special honor of commanding the Kentucky Derby jockeys to mount their horses as the announcer for this year's Riders' Up.



  • Churchill Downs - Louisville, Kentucky USA - Map It!

Firsts, Lasts & Notable Notes

  • May 3, 1952: First time Kentucky Derby is nationally televised coast to coast.