TV Tango Search

Search

|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert
   TelevisionCakeAd

Kentucky Derby

Kentucky Derby

Kentucky_derby_2019_241x208
  • Premiered: 
    May 3, 1952
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: CBS
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Sports
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: horse racing (thoroughbred)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Every year since 1875, Churchill Downs has hosted the KENTUCKY DERBY, often billed as "The Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports," which is the first jewel in horse racing's Triple Crown. At the first event, an estimated 10,000 people watched on May 17, 1875. Until 1895, the KENTUCKY DERBY was a 1.5-mile race, when it was shortened that year to 1.25 miles, because the distance was "too long for three-year-old so early in the spring." The Derby had its first live radio broadcast in 1925 and was first televised nationwide by CBS in 1952.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
On Saturday, May 4, 2019, NBC Sports Group presented 7.25 hours of KENTUCKY DERBY coverage, beginning at Noon ET/9am PT on NBCSN (three races) and continuing from 2:30-7:15pm ET/11:30am-4:15pm PT on NBC (five races), featuring host Mike Tirico and co-host Rebecca Lowe; analysts Randy Moss and Jerry Bailey, the Hall of Fame jockey and two-time Kentucky Derby winner; handicappers/reporters Eddie Olczyk and Britney Eurton; reporters Donna Brothers (also on horseback), Kenny Rice, Nick Luck, Laffit Pincay III, and Ahmed Fareed, who makes his Kentucky Derby debut and also hosts NBCSN's earlier coverage; and race caller Larry Collmus. NBC News weather anchor and correspondent Dylan Dreyer reprises her role as fashion and lifestyle correspondent; and NBC Sports Group's NASCAR features reporter Rutledge Wood returns to offer some unique storytelling. Sugarland singer Jennifer Nettles sings the national anthem, performing "The Star-Spangled Banner" live for more than 160,000 fans, taking place just after 5pm ET in the Kentucky Derby Winner's Circle. Past artists who performed the national anthem are Pentatonix (2018), Harry Connick Jr. (2017), Lady Antebellum (2016), Josh Groban (2015), Jo Dee Messina (2014), Martina McBride (2013), Mary J. Blige (2012), Jordin Sparks (2011), Rascal Flatts (2010) and LeeAnn Rimes (2009).

At post time (6:50pm ET/3:50pm PT), 19 horses were set to begin the race with the 9-2 favorite, Maximum Security, starting in the No. 7 post position.

Cast

Settings

  • Churchill Downs - Louisville, Kentucky USA - Map It!

Firsts, Lasts & Notable Notes

  • May 3, 1952: First time Kentucky Derby is nationally televised coast to coast.