TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

The Layover with Anthony Bourdain

The Layover with Anthony Bourdain

  • Premiered: 
    November 21, 2011
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Travel
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Reality
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: travel, food

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • Season 1
    • Amazon
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

With only 24-48 hours to spend in a city, Anthony Bourdain finds the must-see places, people and foods that represent the essence of each locale. Bourdain travels throughout North America, Asia and Europe, finding the sites and sounds that are off the tourist maps and only known by the most seasoned travelers. In the first season Bourdain travels to: Singapore, where Tony tastes nasi lemak, an iconic rice dish, at the Changi Village Hawker Center, dines at Chin Chin Eating House, a Hainanese restaurant that has been serving its famous chicken rice since 1953, explores Geylang, Singapore's red-light district, shops at Thieves Market, checks out Geylang Claypot with food writer K.F. Seetoh, and shares a bowl of fish head stew with celebrity photographer Russell Wong; New York, where he checks out NYC's iconic Big Gay Ice Cream Truck and hangs with his chef friends, David Chang and Eddie Huang; Rome; Miami; Los Angeles; San Francisco; Hong Kong; London; Montreal; and Amsterdam. In Season 2, which premiered on Monday, November 19, 2012, Bourdain traveled to 10 new cities, including Atlanta, Dublin, New Orleans, Paris, Philadelphia, Sao Paulo, Seattle, Taipei, and Toronto.


Other Titles

  • Season 1 title: The Layover

Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Zero Point Zero Productions