TV Tango Search

Search

|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert
   TelevisionCakeAd

Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest

Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest

Nathans_hot_dog_eating_contest_2017_241x208
  • Premiered: 
    July 4, 2003
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ESPN
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Special, Annual
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Talent
  • Tags: food

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 1916 -- except for 1941 and 1971 -- Nathan's Famous Hot Dogs has hosted a Fourth-of-July Hot-Dog-Eating Contest at its flagship restaurant on Surf Avenue on Coney Island, NY. During this contest, competitors vie to eat the most hot dogs in a set duration of time. If there is a tie, the winning contestants then compete in an eat-off to determine a winner. The first contest, held to determine which of four European immigrants was most patriotic, was won by Irishman James Mullen, who ate 13 hot dogs in 12 minutes. Since then the contest format has changed, dropping from its original 12 minutes to 3-1/2 minutes in the 1970s, increasing to 10 minutes for the 1980s, returning to 12 minutes in 1991, and dropping back down to 10 minutes in 2008. In 2011, the women competed for a separate title for the first time. First televised by ESPN in 2003 on tape delay, ESPN (2004-2011), ESPN2 (2012, 2013, 2015 & 2017-2019), ESPNews (2014) and ESPN3 (2016) have shown the men's contest live every year since.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The 2019 NATHAN'S HOT DOG EATING CONTEST was televised live by ESPN2 at Noon ET/9am PT on Thursday, July 4, 2019, featuring the main event, immediately after ESPN3 and the ESPN app streamed the women's contest at 10:45am ET/7:45am PT.

ESPN commentator Adam Amin does play-by-play of the eating competition and the show includes in-depth analysis by Major League Eating's Richard Shea, with reporting by Melanie Collins. George Shea, MLE chairman, hosts the stage show for the historic contest, which has been held in Coney Island, NY, for decades and has been telecast by ESPN for the 16th consecutive year. n addition to the live event on ESPN2, an ESPN3 camera will be focused on Joey Chestnut as he attempts to break his world record of 74 hot dogs and buns in 10 minutes. Coverage also features newcomers Geoff Esper and Darron Breeden -- both competitive eaters qualified with 47 hot dogs and buns and are fast-rising stars in the sport.

Encore presentations air later that day on ESPN2 at 3pm ET/Noon PT and 4pm ET/1pm PT, as well as on ESPNews at 7pm ET/4pm PT.

Other Titles

  • Also known as Nathan's Famous Hot Dog Eating Contest

Settings

  • Nathan's Famous Hot Dogs - Brooklyn, New York USA - Map It!