TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

New Year's Eve Live

New Year's Eve Live

  • Premiered: 
    December 31, 2002
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Fox
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Special, Annual
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Holiday
  • Tags: New Year's Eve/Day

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each December 31st since 2002, FOX has welcomed the New Year with a musical special and countdown. Originally airing as AMERICA'S PARTY and broadcasting live from Las Vegas for the first two years, the countdown moved to Times Square in 2004 and changed its name to NEW YEAR'S EVE: LIVE FROM TIMES SQUARE WITH RYAN SEACREST. After three years as host, Seacrest moved to ABC's DICK CLARK'S NEW YEAR'S ROCKIN' EVE the next year in 2005, co-hosting with Dick Clark and eventually replacing him after Clark's death in 2012. After Seacrest left NEW YEAR'S EVE LIVE, this special -- now with a shortened title -- stayed in NYC one more year with Regis Philbin as host, before moving back to Las Vegas. Since 2006, the show's host has been in Las Vegas, featuring musical performances, celebrity interviews, and retrospectives. Plus, the special has either featured a correspondent in Times Square in New York City for updates or the program simply cuts to live coverage of the ball drop from New York City's Times Square, just before midnight. Past musical performers include: Sheryl Crow, Ashanti and Sugar Ray in 2002; Ashanti, Metallica, and Puddle of Mudd in 2003; Hoobastank, Evanescence and Usher in 2004; no musical performers in 2005, but Nick Cannon, Tyler Hilton and John O'Hurley helped Philbin; Toni Braxton and Chris Daughtry in 2006; Lifehouse, Jordin Sparks and Blake Lewis in 2007; David Cook, Daughtry, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Scott Weiland in 2008; Kris Allen, Allison Iraheta and Sean Kingston in 2009; Travie McCoy and David Archuleta in 2010; Eli Young Band, Toby Keith and Joe Nichols in 2011; and Tate Stevens, Lifehouse and Carmen Electra in 2012.
On Tuesday, December 31, 2013 from 11pm-12:30am ET (live)/PT (tape), host Mario Lopez rings in 2014 from LIGHT Nightclub at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas, featuring performances by J. Cole, Krewella, New Politics and Panic! At The Disco.


Other Titles

  • Aired Dec. 31, 2002 & 2003 as America's Party
  • Aired Dec. 31, 2004 New Year's Eve: Live from Times Square with Ryan Seacrest
  • Aired Dec. 31, 2011 as American Country New Year's Eve Live

Production & Distribution

  • Produced by The Gurin Company (2005)
  • Produced by Ryan Seacrest Productions (2004)


  • Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino (2012-Present) - Las Vegas, Nevada USA - Map It!