TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

New Year's Rockin' Eve

New Year's Rockin' Eve

Photo Credit:  ABC/Heidi Gutman
  • Premiered: 
    December 31, 1972
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: NBC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Special, Annual
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Holiday
  • Tags: New Year's Eve/Day

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

NEW YEAR'S ROCKIN' EVE is an annual special, broadcast on New Year's Eve, ringing in the new year with popular musical acts. This special first aired on Sunday, December 31, 1972 on NBC at 11:30pm with much of the show taped on the Queen Mary in Long Beach, CA, with performances by: headliner Three Dog Night; Blood, Sweat and Tears; Mary Travers; Al Green; and Billy Preston. The following year, still originating (via tape) from the Queen Mary in Long Beach with some live footage of the celebration in New York's Times Square, performances included: George Carlin; Billy Preston; Linda Ronstadt; the Tower of Power; and the Pointer Sisters. In its third year, ROCKIN' EVE switched to ABC, where it has aired ever since.
Ryan Seacrest hosts DICK CLARK'S NEW YEAR'S ROCKIN' EVE WITH RYAN SEACREST 2018 with Times Square Correspondent Jenny McCarthy, Ciara hosting in Los Angeles, and Lucy Hale as the host of the New Orleans-based portions. The festivities kick off in primetime from 8-11pm ET (live)/PT (tape) on ABC, featuring live performances from New York's Times Square, as well as multiple performances from the celebrations in Los Angeles and New Orleans. The party continues from 11:30pm - 1:09am ET (live)/PT (tape) with the final countdown in Times Square. Finally, the night wraps up from 1:09 - 2:15am ET (live)/PT (tape) with additional performances from Los Angeles. Ryan Seacrest leads the traditional countdown to midnight from Times Square in New York City as he has for the last 12 years. Jenny McCarthy is live from Times Square where Mariah Carey, Camila Cabello, Nick Jonas and Sugarland perform for over one million fans. Ciara hosts the party in Los Angeles with performances by Kane Brown, BTS, Kelly Clarkson, Fitz & The Tantrums, Florida Georgia Line, Halsey, Khalid, Shawn Mendes, Charlie Puth, Portugal. The Man and Hailee Steinfeld, and all-star collaborations from Alessia Cara and Zedd, G-Eazy and Halsey, Khalid with Marshmello, Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line, and Hailee Steinfeld and Alesso featuring Florida Georgia Line and watt. Lucy Hale hosts the second annual Central Time Zone countdown live from New Orleans with Imagine Dragons slated to perform from the Fan Fest, and Walk The Moon takes the stage leading up to the midnight countdown and stunning fleur-de-lis drop near Jackson Square. Plus, Britney Spears performs from The AXIS at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino in Las Vegas. Marking the end to her record-breaking residency, Spears is set to perform her infectious dance hits "Toxic" and "Work Bitch," making it the first television performance of 2018.


Other Titles

  • Also known as Dick Clark's Primetime Rockin' Eve with Ryan Seacrest

Production & Distribution

  • Produced by dick clark productions