TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Project Runway

Project Runway

Photo Credit:  Miller Mobley/Bravo
  • Premiered: 
    December 1, 2004
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Bravo
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Reality
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Talent
  • Tags: fashion

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • Season 1
    • Amazon
  • Season 2
    • Amazon
  • Season 3
    • Amazon
  • Season 4
    • Amazon
  • Season 5
    • Amazon
  • Season 6
    • Amazon
  • Season 7
    • Amazon
  • Season 8
    • Amazon
  • Click icon to watch or own full episodes
    Season 8

Plot Synopsis

Hosted by supermodel Heidi Klum (Seasons 1-16) or Karlie Kloss (Season 17), PROJECT RUNWAY is a competition reality series set in the glamorous world of the fashion industry. Up-and-coming designers compete in weekly elimination challenges to win the half-million-dollar grand prize, which for Season 12 includes $150,000 cash, $100,000 fabric allowance, a $50,000 styling contract, a fashion spread in "Marie Claire" magazine, a 2014 Lexus IS 350, a $50,000 technology suite by HP and Intel and the opportunity to design and sell an exclusive collection at Belk. For the first five seasons, the series aired on Bravo and took place in New York City. After a long legal battle, the program moved to Lifetime for Season 6, originating from Los Angeles. Starting with Season 7, the show continued to air on Lifetime, but the program moved back to New York City. On May 26, 2016 Lifetime renewed PROJECT RUNWAY for three additional seasons, taking the series through Season 18. Two years later, soon after Season 16 concluded, A+E Networks severed its relationship with the production company, TWC Television, and canceled later seasons of the series, following the Harvey Weinstein scandal. Bravo bought the rights to the series, which returned to its original network in March 2019.

Past winners include: Jay McCarroll (Season 1); Chloe Dao (Season 2); Jeffrey Sebelia (Season 3); Christian Siriano (Season 4); Leanne Marshall (Season 5); Irina Shabayeva (Season 6); Seth Aaron Henderson (Season 7); Gretchen Jones (Season 8); Anya Ayoung-Chee (Season 9); Dmitry Sholokhov (Season 10); Michelle Lesniak Franklin (Season 11); Dom Streater (Season 12); Sean Kelly (Season 13); Ashley Nell Tipton (Season 14); Erin Robertson (Season 15); Kentaro Kameyama (Season 16).

Returning to its original network, Season 17 of PROJECT RUNWAY premieres Thursday, March 14, 2019 from 8-9:30pm ET/PT on Bravo with a new host Karlie Kloss, new mentor Christian Siriano (Season 4 winner), returning judge Nina Garcia, and new judges Brandon Maxwell & Elaine Welteroth. The new look and feel continues with 16 new designers from across the United States and abroad who compete for the coveted spot of a lifetime, a chance to show their collection during an exclusive runway show for industry insiders and influencers as well as win the largest cash prize in the show's history. With an all-new runway and workroom furnished with sewing and embroidery machines by Brother, a glam room for the models outfitted by TRESemme and Maybelline, along with challenges that embrace the nuances of the fashion industry -- including flash sales, fast fashion, the inclusion of plus-size models, Instagram, a special Elton John challenge inspired by Paramount Pictures' Rocketman, and more. Proving they can survive in the competitive and cutthroat world of fashion, the hopefuls compete in an array of challenges, including a series first -- the flash sale challenge. In several episodes this season, fans will have a higher stake in the show by getting a chance to own a piece of the Runway by voting on the outfits they like best, with both the judges' winning look and a fan-favorite look being manufactured in the USA by Nineteenth Amendment, a production platform producing sustainable clothing on-demand, and sold on The wining designer will receive the largest prize in the show's history -- $250,000 furnished by the Pilot's FriXion Erasable Gel Ink Pen -- a feature in ELLE, and his or her own featured role in a Bluprint digital series as well as $50,000 to put toward their own design studio also courtesy of Bluprint. Plus, for the first time ever, "Project Runway" is partnering with one of the most prestigious organizations in fashion, CFDA (The Council of Fashion Designers of America) for a one-on-one mentorship including all the tools and connections to create, grow, and sustain a business in fashion.

Guest judges for Season 17 include: Marni Senofonte, who is Kendall Jenner's personal stylist as well as the stylist behind Beyonce's Lemonade and Super Bowl 50 looks; actress and Siriano muse Danielle Brooks, who judges a fierce challenge to design a dream dress for the women who keep New York City running; famed designer Dapper Dan drops by to inspire the contestants to think outside the box as he did with luxury fashions in the '80s; and to take things up another notch, rapper/songwriter Cardi B makes a surprise visit and gives commentary as only she can.

The Season 17 designers are:

- Afa Ah Loo (Lotopa, Samoa)
- Rakan Shams Aldeen (Homs, Syria)
- Cavanagh Baker (Nashville, TN)
- Tessa Clark (Greenville, OH)
- Bishme Cromartie (Baltimore, MD)
- Venny Etienne (Brooklyn, NY)
- Jhoan "Sebastian" Grey (Cali, Colombia)
- Renee Hill (Philadelphia, PA)
- Sonia Kasparian (Portland, OR)
- Kovid Kapoor (Brooklyn, NY)
- Frankie Lewis (Louisville, KY)
- Lela Orr (Monroe, LA)
- Jamall Osterholm (Cranston, RI)
- Nadine Ralliford (Stone Mountain, GA)
- Gary "Garo Sparo" Spampinato (Bayshore, NY)
- Hester Sunshine (Santa Fe, NM)

In the 90-minute season opener, "First Impressions," Sixteen talented designers from all walks of life arrive in New York City for the ultimate fashion competition. Nerves are high as the designers start-off by showcasing their best looks for industry influencers and the Project Runway host and judges Karlie Kloss, Nina Garcia, Brandon Maxwell and Elaine Welteroth. Afterwards, the contestants meet this season's mentor, CFDA and celebrity fashion designer, Christian Siriano. The designers receive their first challenge, to create a look inspired by some of the biggest names in fashion but with a shocking and unexpected twist!
On Thursday, June 13, 2019 from 9-10:30pm ET/PT, Bravo premiered the Season 17 finale of PROJECT RUNWAY. In the season ender, "The Final Runway," Three designers -- Gary Sparo, Hester Sunshine, and Sebastian Grey -- have fought for the chance to show their collections to the New York fashion elite and to the world. They will grapple with all aspects of putting together an amazing runway, from model casting to hair and make up to deciding what outfits will give them the best chance for the win. Pressure is at an all time high when they find out the guest judge is legendary designer Diane Von Furstenberg.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by The Weinstein Company
  • Produced by Miramax Films
  • Produced by Bunim-Murray Productions
  • Produced by Full Picture Productions
  • Produced by Magical Elves


  • Parsons The New School for Design - Manhattan, New York USA - Map It!