TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

RuPaul's Drag Race

RuPaul's Drag Race

Photo Credit:  Mathu Andersen / Logo
  • Premiered: 
    February 2, 2009
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: Logo
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Reality
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Talent
  • Tags: drag, LGBT

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • Season 2
    • Amazon
  • Season 3
    • Amazon
  • Season 4
    • Amazon
  • Click icon to watch or own full episodes
    Season 1
    Season 2

Plot Synopsis

Who will be ''America's Next Superstar Drag Queen'' and the recipient of a prize package that includes a supply of Colorevolution Cosmetics and a cash prize of $100,000? A group of the top drag queens from the United States, including Ongina and Rebecca Glasscock in Season 1, compete in this reality series which is part AMERICA'S NEXT TOP MODEL and part PROJECT RUNWAY. Each week, the bottom two contestants compete in a lip-sync competition -- the winner will 'shante and stay' and the loser 'sashays away.' For Season 2, there are a number of celebrity guest judges, including: Kathy Griffin, Cloris Leachman, Debbie Reynolds, Jackie Collins, Tatum O'Neal, Kathy Najimy, Tanya Tucker and Lisa Rinna. Celebrity judges for Season 3 included: Billy B.; Wayne Brady; Margaret Cho; Eliza Dushku; Carmen Electra; Fantasia Barrino; Gigi Levangie Grazer; LaToya Jackson; Debbie Matenopoulos; Mike Ruiz; Jeffrey Moran; Arden Myrin; Sharon Osbourne; Susan Powter; Amber Rose; Rita Rudner; Sara Rue; Chloe Sevigny; Cheryl Tiegs; Lily Tomlin; Alessandra Torresani; Aisha Tyler; Bruce Vilanch; Jody Watley; Johnny Weir; and Vanessa Williams. Season 4 celebrity judges included: Amber Riley; Billy B.; Elvira; Dan Savage; Jeffrey Moran; Jennifer Love Hewitt; Jennifer Tilly; Jesse Tyler Ferguson; John Salley; Kelly Osbourne; Loretta Devine; Max Mutchnick; Mike Ruiz; Natalie Cole; Nicole Sullivan; Pauley Perrette; Pam Anderson; Regina King; Rick Fox; Rose McGowan; Ross Mathews; and Wynonna Judd. Season 5, which premiered on Monday, January 28, 2013 at 9pm ET, featured these celebrity guest judges: Maria Conchita Alonso; Joan Van Ark; Chaz Bono; Downtown Julie Brown; Coco; Camille Grammer; Marg Helgenberger; La Toya Jackson; Kristen Johnston; Leslie Jordan; Clinton Kelly; George Kotsiopoulos; Juliette Lewis; Bob Mackie; Aubrey O'Day; Jamie-Lynn Sigler; the Pointer Sisters; Paulina Porizkova; Mike Ruiz; Jamie-Lynn Sigler; and Travis Wall. RUPAUL'S DRAG RACE returned for its sixth season on Monday, February 24, 2014 at 9pm ET/PT on Logo with a 90-minute season premiere during which the 14 new queens faced a death-defying photo shoot. Season 6 guest judges included: Neil Patrick Harris, Adam Lambert, Khloe Kardashian, Lena Headey, Linda Blair, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Heather McDonald, Eve, Trina, Leah Remini, Jaime Pressly, Paula Abdul, Mike Ruiz, David Burtka and Bob Mackie, and more. The drag queens competing in the sixth season were: Adore Delano, April Carrion, BenDeLaCreme, Bianca del Rio, Courtney Act, Darienne Lake, Gia Gunn, Joslyn Fox, Kelly Mantle, Laganja Estranja, Magnolia Crawford, Milk, Trinity K. Bonet and Vivacious. On Monday, March 2, 2015 at 9pm ET/PT, Logo premiered the seventh season of RUPAUL'S DRAG RACE with a 2-1/2 hour season opener. Season 7 features two new judges -- Ross Mathews and Carson Kressley -- who join RuPaul and returning judge Michelle Visage in crowing America's Next Drag Superstar. Season 7 celebrity guest judges include Kathy Griffin (in the season premiere), Jessica Alba, Ariana Grande, Demi Lovato, Olivia Newton-John, Alyssa Milano, Jordin Sparks, Kat Dennings, Mel B and John Waters. Season 8 of RUPAUL'S DRAG RACE premiered on Monday, March 7, 2016 from 9-10:30pm ET/PT on Logo, which also marks the show's 100th episode and the 100th Queen to sashay into the workroom. Once again, RuPaul was joined by show regulars Michelle Visage, Carson Kressley and Ross Mathews as well as celebrity guest judges, as they decide who will stay, lip-synch for their life or "Sashay Away." This season's celebrity guest judges include Nicole Richie (season premiere), Gigi Hadid, Marc Jacobs, David and Amy Sedaris, Debbie Harry and Chris Stein of Blondie, Ester Dean, Faith Evans, Jamal Sims, Chanel Iman, Todrick Hall, Thomas Roberts, Tasha Smith and Vivica A. Fox. The 12 Queens for the new season include: Acid Betty (Brooklyn, NY), Bob The Drag Queen (New York, NY), Chi Chi DeVayne (Shreveport, LA), Cynthia Lee Fontaine (Austin, TX), Dax ExclamationPoint (Savannah, GA), Derrick Barry (Las Vegas, NV), Kim Chi (Chicago, IL), Laila McQueen (Gloucester, MA), Naomi Smalls(Redlands, CA), Naysha Lopez (Chicago, IL), Robbie Turner (Seattle, WA) and Thorgy Thor (Brooklyn, NY). Leading up to the 100th episode, Logo aired a full-season marathon, beginning Thursday, March 3 at 7pm and ending Monday, March 7 at 9pm. Throughout the marathon, viewers will be treated to all-new interviews with previous contestants who will spill all of the behind-the-scenes T on their seasons. For its ninth season, RUPAUL'S DRAG RACE moved to VH1, premiering on Friday, March 24, 2017 at 8pm ET/PT, with host RuPaul and judges Michelle Visage, Carson Kressley and Ross Mathews returning for the new season. Featuring Lady Gaga, the Season 9 premiere, "Oh. My. Gaga!," has a shocking opening that will go down as one of the most jaw-dropping moments in DRAG RACE history. Additionally, the premiere event unveils a court of cut-throat Queens each competing to snatch the crown and strut away with a $100,000 cash prize and the coveted title of "America's Next Drag Superstar." Along the way, they face an unpredictable competition and deliver watercooler moments as these talented ladies of drag join the fabulous 100 Queens who fought for the crown before them. The 13 Queens competing in Season 9 include: Aja Brooklyn (New York, New York; TW: @ajathekween; IG: @ajathekween); Alexis Michelle (New York, New York; TW: @AlexisLives; IG: @AlexisLives); Charlie Hides (London, UK; TW: @charliehidestv; IG: @charliehidestv); Eureka O'Hara (Johnson City, TN; TW: @eurekaohara; IG: @eurekaohara); Farrah Moan (Las Vegas, Nevada; TW: @farrahrized; IG: @farrahrized); Jaymes Mansfield (Madison, Wisconsin; TW: @JaymesMansfield; IG: @jaymesmansfield); Kimora Blac (Las Vegas, Nevada; TW: @kimorablac; IG: @kimorablac); Nina Bo'nina Brown (Atlanta, Georgia; TW: @atlsexyslim; IG: @nina_bonina_brown); Peppermint (New York, New York; TW: @Peppermint247; IG: @peppermint247); Sasha Velour (Brooklyn, New York; TW: @sasha_velour; IG: @sashavelour); Shea Coulee (Chicago, IL; TW: @SheaCoulee; IG: @sheacoulee); Trinity Taylor (Orlando, FL; TW: @TrinityTheTuck; IG: @trinitythetuck); and Valentina (Los Angeles, CA; TW: @AllofValentina; IG: @allaboutvalentina). In addition to Lady Gaga appearance in the season opener, Season 9 also features these guest judges: Lisa Kudrow, Cheyenne Jackson, Meghan Trainor, Kesha, The B-52s, Naya Rivera, Andie MacDowell, Tori Spelling, Jennie Garth, Denis O'Hare, Noah Galvin, Todrick Hall, Tamar Braxton, Lisa Robertson, Joan Smalls, Candis Cayne, Fortune Feimster and Jeffrey Bowyer-Chapman.
On Friday, June 23, 2017 at 8pm ET/PT, VH1 premiered the season finale of RUPAUL'S DRAG RACE. In the season ender, "Grand Finale," RuPaul crowns America's Next Drag Superstar in an epic, show-stopping finale.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by World of Wonder