TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Those Who Can't

Those Who Can't

  • Premiered: 
    February 11, 2016
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: truTV
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Comedy (Sitcom)
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Created by Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl & Ben Roy 
  • Subject Matter: School
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Created by and starring Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy of the Denver-based comedy troupe The Grawlix, THOSE WHO CAN'T is a half-hour scripted comedy series, the first for truTV, that follows three trouble-making teachers as they struggle to survive each day on their own terms while trying to beat the system. The three teachers are: Loren Payton, a Spanish teacher and self-proclaimed bon vivant, who studied the Queen's Spanish while traveling to Spain as a young adult, and now teaches this dialect to his mostly Mexican students at Smoot High; Andy Fairbell, a former all-star student at his own high school, who is now the resident gym teacher, health teacher, and JV girls' volleyball coach; and Billy Shoemaker, a loud-mouthed, tattooed, angry history teacher who spent much of his life touring with Capitalist Emulsification, Denver's pre-eminent post-punk speed bludgeon band. They're joined by Abbey Logan, the school librarian, who has an insuppressible passion for life and believes her past has nothing to do with her recent divorce or her crippling sugar addiction. Guest stars in Season 1 include Sarah Michelle Gellar, Susie Essman, T.J. Miller, Peter Stormare and Michael Madsen. THOSE WHO CAN'T premiered with back-to-back episodes on Thursday, February 11, 2016 from 10:30-11:30pm ET/PT. In the series opener, "The Boys Are Coming Together," the teachers exact a terrible (and stupid) revenge when the school bully begins picking on some of the teachers at Smoot High. Two months before the series debut, truTV ordered a second season of the THOSE WHO CAN'T on December 1, 2015.

Season 2 of THOSE WHO CAN'T premiered on Thursday, October 6, 2016 at 10:30pm ET/PT on truTV. In the season opener, "Rod Man Out," with the dreaded new school year right around the corner, the teachers get a surprise when Rod returns to Smoot a sober man. But his new insufferable attitude forces the gang to do the unthinkable to get him back to his old self. In the remainder of the second season, new challenges arise as the teachers struggle to deal with a principal regime change, which has dramatically shaken things up inside Smoot High. They're forced to take their schemes to greater lengths in order to keep their jobs, their friends and their 'dignity.' It's going to be a long year...if they can make their way through it. Cheri Oteri guest stars in seven episodes as the school's new principal, Cattie Goodman. Joining Oteri are new characters played by Patton Oswalt and Baron Vaughn, as well as returning guest stars from Season 1: Rory Scovel, the disgraced former principal; Susie Essman, the wily home ec teacher; and Kyle Kinane, the lush former United States history teacher. Additional guest stars throughout the season include Will Sasso, Rich Fulcher, Hana Mae Lee, Ginger Gonzaga, Eddie Pepitone, Jamie Denbo, Jon Dore, Ian Karmel, Sean Patton, Gregg Henry, Jade Catta-Preta, Noah Crawford and wrestling legend Kurt Angle. Season 2 also welcomes back returning guest stars Mary Lynn Rajskub as the school's eccentric drama teacher; Sonya Eddy, the principal's jaded administrative assistant; and Jason Sklar and Randy Sklar who both play the school's physician.

The 13-episode third season of THOSE WHO CAN'T premiered on Monday, January 14, 2019 at 10pm ET/PT on truTV. In Season 3, the gang struggles when a new straitlaced guidance counselor arrives and forces them to face their biggest challenge yet: accountability. The Smoot faculty scheme to maintain the status quo while facing the overwhelming challenges of bullies, inappropriate romantic entanglements, a dreaded Taco-less Tuesday and a game-changing turn that leaves the staff questioning everything, even the fate of Smoot! Returning guest stars this season include Rory Scovel, Patton Oswalt, Baron Vaughn, Susie Essman, Kyle Kinane, Rich Fulcher, Hana Mae Lee, Ginger Gonzaga, Jade Catta-Preta, and Noah Crawford. Plus, Sonya Eddy as the principal's jaded administrative assistant, and Jason Sklar and Randy Sklar, who play the school's physicians. In the season opener, "All's Fairbell," against all odds, Fairbell is excelling in his new role as principal, but the gang's buttoned-up guidance counselor jeopardizes the rest of the gang's easy street.
On Monday, April 8, 2019 at 10pm ET/PT, truTV premiered the Season 3 finale of THOSE WHO CAN'T. In the season ender, "Yes We Scan," with the school in danger of being shut down, the gang hatches a plan to save the day; meanwhile, Quinn and Tammy embark on a drug-fueled vision quest.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Thank You, Brain! Productions


  • Reed Smoot High - Denver, Colorado USA

Firsts, Lasts & Notable Notes

  • February 11, 2016: First scripted series for truTV.