TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Tony Awards

Tony Awards

  • Premiered: 
    March 26, 1967
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ABC
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Entertainment
  • Tags: theater, celebrity

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 1947, The American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League have jointly presented the TONY AWARDS to honor the best Broadway productions and performances during the previous year. Named for Antoinette Perry, an actress, director, producer, and the dynamic wartime leader of the American Theatre Wing, the Tony Awards made their official debut at a dinner in the Grand Ballroom of the Waldorf Astoria hotel on Easter Sunday, April 6, 1947. Television coverage began in 1956 when Du Mont's Channel 5 telecast them locally for the first time, and WCBS in New York broadcast The Tonys locally before they were carried nationally in 1967, when a national audience could watch the presentation of Tony Awards for the first time. CBS began carrying the broadcast in 1978, and has aired the Tonys every year since.
Emmy and Tony Award winner James Corden returns as host for the 73RD ANNUAL TONY AWARDS, which is broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City on Sunday, June 9, 2019 from 8-11pm ET (live)/PT (tape) on CBS.

The evening features performances by casts from "Ain't Too Proud -- The Life and Times of the Temptations," "Beetlejuice," "The Cher Show," "Choir Boy," "Hadestown," "Kiss Me, Kate," "Oklahoma!," "The Prom," and "Tootsie." The evening also features a special performance by Tony Award-winning actress Cynthia Erivo

The evening features appearances by Sara Bareilles, Laura Benanti, Abigail Breslin, Danny Burstein, David Byrne, Vanessa Carlton, Kristin Chenoweth, Darren Criss, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Tina Fey, Sutton Foster, Josh Groban, Danai Gurira, Jake Gyllenhaal, Christopher Jackson, Samuel L. Jackson, Shirley Jones, Regina King, Jane Krakowski, Isabelle Stevenson Award recipient Judith Light, Laura Linney, Lucy Liu, Aasif Mandvi, Audra McDonald, Sienna Miller, Catherine O'Hara, Tony Nominee Kelli O'Hara, Karen Olivo, Ben Platt, Billy Porter, Anthony Ramos, Andrew Rannells, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Michael Shannon, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Marisa Tomei, Aaron Tveit, Samira Wiley and BeBe Winans.



  • Radio City Music Hall - Manhattan, New York USA - Map It!
  • Beacon Theatre (2011, 2012, 2016) - Manhattan, New York USA