TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Tournament of Laughs

Tournament of Laughs

  • Premiered: 
    June 21, 2020
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: tbs
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Reality
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Talent
  • Tags: comedy

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Hosted by Jason Sudeikis, TOURNAMENT OF LAUGHS is a competition reality series that turns comedy into sport, with comics facing off each week in a single-elimination bracket-style tournament. The comics go head-to-head virtually to out-funny one another, with Sudeikis acting as the master of ceremonies and providing color commentary. The comics create, produce, self-film, and star in their own videos -- from stand-up sets to song parodies and everything in-between. After the episode airs, the home audience decides who moves forward -- via phone and online voting -- with the winning comics returning for the next round. The final episode features an expert comedy panel charged with crowning a winner in the championship match-up for the last laugh and bragging rights as tournament champion. Each of the 32 comedians has been placed into one of four regions -- The South, The Wast, The West and Unknown, Probably Canada -- and first-round matchups are set:

Jeff Ross vs Beth Stelling
Moshe Kasher vs Aida Rodriguez
Mary Lynn Rajskub vs Preacher Lawson
Natasha Leggero vs Cameron Esposito

Triumph the Insult Comic Dog vs Chaunte Wayans
Clayton English vs Matteo Lane
The Sklar Brothers vs Yamaneika Saunders
Judah Friedlander vs Piff the Magic Dragon

Jim Norton as "Chip Chipperson" vs Megan Gailey
Gina Yashere vs Paul Rodriguez
Josh Wolf vs Vladmir Caamano
Gilbert Gottfried vs Sarah Tiana

Margaret Cho vs Ian Edwards
Michael Rapapport vs Jessica Kirson
Godrey vs Tim Dillon
Fortune Feimster vs Marina Franklin
On Sunday, August 2, 2020 at 10pm ET/PT, tbs premiered "The Last Laugh," the finale of TOURNAMENT OF LAUGHS. Host Jason Sudeikis regales the final comedians in all their glorious hilarity, but only one will be crowned the grand champion! The semifinalist who competed in the "Fortunate Four" one week earlier included:

Natasha Leggero vs. Piff The Magic Dragon

Tim Dillon vs. Jim Norton as "Chip Chipperson"

Voting for the "Fortunate Four" took place the previous week (before Monday, July 27 at 10am ET/7am PT), and the winners were announced in the finale.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by The Jay and Tony Show