TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert



  • Premiered: 
    April 3, 2016
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: BBC1
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Drama
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Created by Peter Moffat 
  • Subject Matter: Family
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • Season 1
    • Amazon
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

UNDERCOVER is a one-hour drama series that follows Maya, who is about to become the first black Director of Public Prosecutions, the highest-ranking public prosecutor role in England. But just as Maya's life comes under intense public scrutiny, she discovers that Nick, her husband and the father of her children, has been lying to her for years. Twenty years ago, Nick was a fearless and dedicated undercover officer, infiltrating organizations considered a danger to society because of their political beliefs. Nick built himself a fake past, but now with his wife suspecting and his conscience killing him, his secret identity may end up compromising his wife's new career. Is he concealing an affair, or is it something altogether more sinister? If she digs up his real past will she jeopardize her own future? What price do you pay for uncovering lies? And who wants her in the top job, and why? And Maya can only watch as her dearest friend and client, Rudy Jones -- a man who has been on death row for twenty years, falsely imprisoned for murder -- refuses to go quietly, urging her to fight the deep-grained injustices that have tainted two decades of his life. Truths will emerge and Maya and her husband's lives will change forever. The story takes on controversial and challenging issues that impact society on a global scale, with the narrative intercut over different decades, concurrently unfolding in both the US and UK. BBC America broadcast the U.S. premiere of UNDERCOVER on Wednesday, November 16, 2016 from 8-11pm ET/PT, showing three back-to-back episodes, with the last three episodes of the first season debuting the next night: Thursday, November 17 from 8-11pm.