TV Tango Search

Search

|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert
   TelevisionCakeAd

White House Correspondents' Association Dinner

White House Correspondents' Association Dinner

White_house_correspondents_association_dinner_241x208
  • Premiered: 
    May 1, 1993
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: C-SPAN
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Special, Annual
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year, the White House Correspondents Association hosts a dinner, affectionately called the "nerd prom," which draws movers and shakers from the worlds of journalism, politics, and entertainment. Proceeds from the dinner help fund over $100,000 in scholarships and awards that recognize aspiring and accomplished journalists. At the dinner, the President traditionally delivers his own set of jokes, poking fun at himself as well as his political opponents, before the night's host, usually a comedian, takes the podium.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For the 105th annual dinner -- and the third consecutive year that the President has not attended -- Ron Chernow, one of the most eminent biographers of American presidents, headlined the event on Saturday, April 27, 2019 from the Washington Hilton Hotel, Washington, DC, which was televised live by C-SPAN, CNN and MSNBC. C-SPAN's live coverage began at 9:30pm ET/6:30pm ET, lasting until 11pm ET/8pm PT. Meanwhile, CNN's live coverage started at 7pm ET/4pm PT, continuing through the 10-11pm ET/7-8pm PT hour. MSNBC picked up its two-hour live coverage at 9pm ET/6pm PT.

Cast

Other Titles

  • Also known as White House Correspondents' Dinner
  • Also known as WHCA's annual dinner
  • Informally known as Nerd Prom

Settings

  • - Washington DC USA