TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

BET Hip Hop Awards

BET Hip Hop Awards

  • Premiered: 
    November 15, 2006
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: BET
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Musical
  • Tags: celebrity

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 2006, BET has honored the best hip-hop performers, writers, producers, and directors, featuring performances by A-list hip-hop stars, as well as the show's cyphers, the program's most anticipated highlight. The awards program is taped, and shown on BET within two weeks of the event. First held at Atlanta's historic Fox Theatre on November 12, 2006, the ceremony moved to The Boisfeuillet Jones Atlanta Civic Center in 2007, where it has been held since. THE BET HIP HOP AWARDS have recently included the following categories: Best Hip Hop Video; Sweet 16 - Best Featured Verse; Best Live Performer; Lyricist of the Year; Video Director of the Year; Producer of the Year; Track of the Year; CD of the Year; MVP of the Year; Rookie of the Year; DJ of the Year; Best Club Banger; Made-You-Look Award (Best Hip Hop Style); Hustler of the Year; Best Mixtape; Best Hip Hop Online Site; Perfect Combo Award (Best Collabo); and People's Champ Award. In addition to these contemporary awards, the program also confers the "I Am Hip Hop" Icon Award to an individual who, during their lifetime, has made notable contributions of outstanding significance to the hip-hop community. Recipients of the "I Am Hip Hop" Award, previously known as the Icon Award, include: Grandmaster Flash (2006); KRS-One (2007); Russell Simmons (2008); Ice Cube (2009); Salt N Pepa (2010); LL Cool J (2011); MC Rakim (2012); MC Lyte (2013); Doug E. Fresh (2014); Scarface (2015); Snoop Dogg (2016); Luther 'Uncle Luke' Campbell (2017); Lil Wayne (2018); Lil' Kim (2019); Master P (2020); Nelly (2021); Trina (2022); Marley Marl (2023).
Hosted by Fat Joe for the second consecutive year, the 2023 BET HIP HOP AWARDS, which premiered on Tuesday, October 10, 2023 from 9-11pm ET/PT on BET, with a simulcast on BET Her, VH1, and MTV2. Performers at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre include: DaBaby, Fivio Foreign, GloRilla, Sexyy Red, and a deejay and producer tribute featuring Kid Capri, Kool DJ Red Alert, Scott Storch, and Spinderella. The event honors the 30th anniversary of iconic record label So So Def with an all-star roster of hip-hop icons taking the stage, including GRAMMY-Award-winning producer, songwriter, hip-hop artist, author, and DJ, Jermaine Dupri, as well as Bone Crusher, Bow Wow, Da Brat, Dem Franchize Boyz, Ludacris and more.

Super producers Timbaland and Swizz Beatz will present this year's cypher in a hip-hop celebration deejayed by DJ E Feezy and DJ Runna, with lyricists Bun B, Cassidy, Foggieraw, Gloss Up, Lady London, Lola Brooke, Scar Lip, and Symba going head-to-head.

Rapper Marley Marl is the recipient of the 2023 "I Am Hip Hop" Award. Leading nominees include Cardi B (12 nominations), 21 Savage (12), and Drake (9). The 2023 BET HIP HOP AWARDS took place on October 3, 2023 -- one week before the telecast.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by John Cossette Productions
  • Produced by Jesse Collins Entertainment (2012 - Present)


  • The Boisfeuillet Jones Atlanta Civic Center (2007-2015) - Atlanta, Georgia USA - Map It!
  • Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre (2016, 2019, 2021-2023) - Atlanta, Georgia USA
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at Jackie Gleason Theater (2017 & 2018) - Miami, Florida USA