TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert



  • Premiered: 

    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: MTV Europe
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Award
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter: Musical
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Each year since 1994, MTV Europe has hosted the MTV EUROPE MUSIC AWARDS (MTV EMA), which honors the best musical acts from the previous year and features live performances.

The 2013 MTV EMA, hosted by LMFAO's Redfoo in Amsterdam, was broadcast live outside the United States on Sunday, November 10, 2013 at 3pm ET/Noon PT and then shown on tape delay later the same day in the U.S. at 7pm ET/PT on MTV and MTV2. Performers included Bruno Mars, Kings of Leon, Icona Pop, Miley Cyrus, Robin Thicke, Snoop Dogg, Afrojack, Imagine Dragons, The Killers and Katy Perry, while the following people were scheduled to present: Thirty Seconds to Mars frontman Jared Leto, Rita Ora, Bridgit Mendler, Iggy Azalea, Ellie Goulding, Carice van Houten and Colton Haynes.

On Sunday, November 9, 2014 from 7-9:30pm ET/PT, MTV and MTV2 simulcast the 2014 MTV EMA. The night kicked off live from the Klipsch Amphitheater in Miami, FL, with hosts Nick Cannon and Molly Tarlov joined by performers Fifth Harmony, Jake Miller and Nick Jonas. Immediately following the live pre-show special, MTV and MTV2 broadcast the U.S. premiere of the 2014 MTV EMA, hosted by Nicki Minaj from the SSE Hydro in Glasgow, Scotland, featuring a lineup that includes host/performer Nicki Minaj and fellow performers U2, Enrique Iglesias, Calvin Harris, Charli XCX, Kiesza, Royal Blood, Ariana Grande, and Ed Sheeran.

On Sunday, October 25, 2015 from 8-10:05pm ET/PT, MTV and MTV2 simulcast the 2015 MTV EMA, hosted by Ed Sheeran and Ruby Rose from the Mediolanum Forum in Milan, Italy. At the event, Duran Duran received the Visionary Award, while Charli XCX, U.K. rapper Tinie Tempah, and model Hailey Baldwin presented awards and Justin Bieber, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Tori Kelly, James Bay, and Jess Glynne took the stage to perform.

The 2016 MTV EUROPEAN MUSIC AWARDS were broadcast in the United States on November 6, 2016 from 8-10pm ET/PT on MTV, with a simulcast on MTV2 and MTV Classic. Hosted by Bebe Rexha and held at the Ahoy Rotterdam in Rotterdam, Netherlands, the 2016 event featured performances by host Bebe Rexha, DNCE, Lukas Graham, Bruno Mars, Shawn Mendes, Zara Larsson, The Weeknd, OneRepublic, Martin Garrix, Afrojack, Kings of Leon, and Green Day. Plus, Green Day was honored with the Global Icon Award.

In the United States, MTV presented a live broadcast of the 2017 MTV EUROPEAN MUSIC AWARDS on Sunday, November 12, 2017 at 3pm ET/Noon PT from the SSE Arena, Wembley in London, England in partnership with #LondonIsOpen. Hosted by Rita Ora, who also performs, this year's event features additional performances by Demi Lovato, Shawn Mendes, Kesha, Camila Cabello, The Kilers, and Stormzy. Plus, U2 receives the Global Icon Award, and marked the occasion by performing the night before in London's Trafalgar Square.

The 2018 MTV EUROPEAN MUSIC AWARDS premiered in the United States on Sunday, November 4, 2018 at 7pm ET/4pm PT on MTV. Hosted by Hailee Steinfeld, this year's event takes place in Bilbao, Spain, with performances by Nicki Minaj, Halsey, Rosalia and this year's Global Icon Award winner Janet Jackson.

On Sunday, November 3, 2019 from 9-11pm ET/PT, MTV aired the U.S. premiere of the 2019 MTV EUROPEAN MUSIC AWARDS, hosted by Becky G, who is also scheduled to perform. Halsey, Rosalia, Ava Max, Dua Lipa, Niall Horan, Mabel Will, and more also perform at the FIBES Conference and Exhibition Centre in Seville, Andalusia, Spain. Liam Gallagher is honored with the first ever Rock Icon Award.
The 2022 MTV EUROPEAN MUSIC AWARDS, hosted by Rita Ora and Taika Waititi, debuted on MTV and MTV2 on Sunday November 13, 2022 from 3-5pm ET. Performers include: Armani White, Ava Max, Ayanna, Bebe Rexha, David Guetta, GAYLE, Gorillaz, Kalush Orchestra, Lewis Capaldi, Muse, Nasty C, OneRepublic, SpinAll, Stormzy, and Tate McRae.


Other Titles

  • Also known as: MTV Europe Music Awards
  • Also known as: MTV EMAs