TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

The Trouble with Maggie Cole

The Trouble with Maggie Cole

  • Premiered: 
    March 4, 2020
    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network: ITV
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Dramedy
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags:

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • Season 1
    • Amazon
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

See what happens when idle gossip escalates out of control and starts to affect people's lives. Set in a picturesque fishing village of Thurlbury, the series centers on historian Maggie Cole, the self-appointed oracle of this close-knit community, who, when interviewed by a local radio reporter, shares one too many juicy details about some notable residents in the community. The series chronicles the fallouts, fights and consequences resulting from the broadcast, not sparing a soul in the small town. Created and written by Mark Brotherhood, THE TROUBLE WITH MAGGIE COLE had its U.S. premiere on Sunday, October 18, 2020 at 8pm on PBS (check local listings), with a new episode debuting each Sunday at 8pm through November 22. Episodes include:

Episode One (Premieres Sunday, October 18, 2020 @ 8pm): Historian Maggie Cole is asked to do an interview of her coastal village, Thurlbury. Maggie throws a garden party where she plays the interview in full, revealing all the guarded secrets, indiscretions and gossip, changing life in Thurlbury forever.

Episode Two (Premieres Sunday, October 25, 2020 @ 8pm): With the town still reeling from "Radio-gate," Maggie is desperate to make amends. Meanwhile, Neil and Kelly decide to embrace what was broadcast about them and go along with the unsubstantiated gossip as a way to explain their sudden windfall.

Episode Three (Premieres Sunday, November 1, 2020 @ 8pm): Peter Cole is visibly jittery from public and press attention following Maggie's interview. Author Marcus bonds with Jill and Maggie continues her mission to right all of her wrongs, with a tense visit to local hairdresser Kelly.

Episode Four (Premieres Sunday, November 8, 2020 @ 8pm): As Maggie continues to seek amends with her neighbors, she makes a horrifying discovery in a confrontation with Roxanna. Gambling debts plague Alex, and the community's continued pressure on Peter threatens his job and family.

Episode Five (Premieres Sunday, November 15, 2020 @ 8pm): Devastated Maggie heads to the local pub to obtain a room, only to face another townsperson wronged by Radio-gate. Becka and Maggie share a rare moment, putting things into perspective for Maggie. Karen surprises Peter in a borderline terrifying way.

Episode Six (Premieres Sunday, November 22, 2020 @ 8pm): It's the day of the village celebrations, but not everyone is in the mood. Maggie still has to make amends with Jill and Marcus, but is most concerned with reuniting with her family. A series of events could change life in Thurlbury forever.


Production & Distribution

  • Produced by Genial Productions


  • - Thurlbury UK