TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story

The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story


Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Based on real-life events and inspired by Maureen Orth's book, "Vulgar Favors," THE ASSASSINATION OF GIANNI VERSACE: AMERICAN CRIME STORY is a nine-episode series that centers on 27-year-old serial killer Andrew Cunanan and the 1997 murder of 50-year-old Italian fashion designer Gianni Versace outside of his Miami Beach mansion. This series tells the story of Cunanan in reverse order, starting with the murder of Versace on July 15, 1997 and going backwards through the killer's nationwide killing spree: May 9 in New Jersey, where he murdered cemetery worker William Reese; May 4 in Chicago, where he killed 72-year-old real estate developer Lee Miglin; April 25-May 3 in Minnesota, where he killed architect David Madson after bludgeoning ex-boyfriend and former naval officer Jeffrey Trail; after leaving his home in San Diego on April 24. Partway through his 2.5-month nationwide murder spree while law enforcement authorities were putting together the pieces, the FBI joined the search for Cunanan on May 7, making the killer the 449th addition to its 10 Most Wanted Fugitives List, marked with an appearance on the TV series AMERICA'S MOST WANTED.
On Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 10pm ET/PT, FX premiered "Alone," the finale of THE ASSASSINATION OF GIANNI VERSACE: AMERICAN CRIME STORY, as the hunt for spree-killer Andrew Cunanan comes to a frantic end.


Other Titles

  • Previously known as: Versace: American Crime Story

Production & Distribution

  • Produced by FOX 21
  • Produced by FX Productions