TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

Women's World Cup Soccer

Women's World Cup Soccer

  • Premiered: 

    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network:
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Sports
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Women's version of World Cup Soccer 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: soccer (country: women's)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

No DVDs Available
(That We Know Of)
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Every four years since 1991 -- and after multiple regional qualification rounds -- 24 nations (previously 12 nations in 1991 & 1995 and 16 nations in 1999-2011) from around the world travel to the host country, where teams compete in a round-robin group stage, followed by a single-elimination tournament for the top 16 teams (previously top 8 teams from 1991-2011). The last five FIFA Women's World Cup tournaments were televised by ESPN or ESPN-related networks and game coverage featured 32 matches in 1999, 2007 and 2011; 18 matches in 2003; and six matches in 1995. ABC last broadcast FIFA Women's World Cup matches over the air in 2003, carrying three. ABC combined to air seven FIFA Women's World Cup matches in the three tournaments from 1995 to 2003. For the 2015 World Cup from Canada, FOX Sports networks televised all 52 games live from six cities across Canada between June 6 and July 5, including: 16 matches on FOX, five of which are in primetime and include one semifinal, the third place match on July 4 and the final on July 5; 29 matches on FOX Sports 1, including all eight in the round of 16, two quarterfinals and one semifinal; and the remaining seven games on FOX Sports 2.
On Sunday, July 5, 2015 at 7pm ET/4pm PT, FOX broadcasts live coverage from Vancouver of the WOMEN'S WORLD CUP 2015 championship match, pitting USA against Japan, with JP Dellacamera, Cat Whitehill, and Tony DiCicco providing coverage from the booth and Jenny Taft on the field with sideline reports. Pre-match coverage begins at 5pm ET/2pm PT.

Other Titles

  • Also known as: FIFA Women's World Cup