TV Tango Search


|              FREE: Ask a TV Expert

World Cup Soccer

World Cup Soccer

  • Premiered: 

    (Click date to see TV listings for that day)

  • Network:
  • Category: Series
  • Genre: Sports
  • Type: Live Action
  • Concept: 
    Men's version of Women's World Cup Soccer 
  • Subject Matter:
  • Tags: soccer (country: men's)

Buy This Show on DVD or Watch Online

  • Click a button to buy a DVD at Amazon
  • FIFA World Cup DVD Collection: 1930 -2006
    • Amazon
Legal Full Episodes
Not Available Online
(That We Know Of)

Plot Synopsis

Every four years -- and after multiple regional qualification rounds -- 32 nations from around the world travel to the host country, where teams compete in a round-robin group stage, followed by a single-elimination tournament for the top 16 teams. For the 2010 World Cup from South Africa, the seventh time ESPN covered this quadrennial tournament, ESPN, ESPN2, and ABC combined to present all 64 games live, from the opening game between Mexico and South Africa on June 11 through the championship game between Spain and Netherlands on July 11.
Qatar hosts the 2022 World Cup, with Fox Sports covering the event.

The opening game of the 2022 World Cup on Sunday, November 20, 2022 at 11am ET/8am PT on Fox Sports 1 pits hosts Qatar versus Ecuador at Al Bayt Stadium. Qatar is the first host nation to be World Cup debutants since Italy in 1934 (won the trophy). The host nation has never lost its opening match of a World Cup.

The U.S. Men's National Team (USMNT) makes its return to the FIFA World Cup on Monday, November 21 with their opening match against Wales, followed by a highly anticipated Black Friday (November 25) match versus England and a group stage closing matchup with Iran on Tuesday, November 29 (every match airs live at 2pm ET/11am PT on FOX).

The tournament runs through December 18. FOX Sports will air all 64 World Cup matches live across FOX and FS1, with every match livestreaming on the FOX Sports App.


Other Titles

  • Also known as: FIFA World Cup


  • (1982) - Spain
  • (1986) - Mexico
  • (1990) - Italy
  • (1994) - United States
  • (1998) - France
  • (2002) - South Korea
  • (2002) - Japan
  • (2006) - Germany
  • (2010) - South Africa
  • (2014) - Brazil
  • (2018) - Russia
  • (2022) - Qatar